Mobile Apps

ClinicalKey  

About: ClinicalKey combines the speed of synoptic content with the depth of a comprehensive clinical reference tool in one intuitive solution to give clinicians trusted information in the moments that matter.

The ClinicalKey App features:

• Deep insights across 30+ specialties

• Full-text reference books and journals 

• Clinical overviews

• Diagnosis and treatment information

• Drug monographs

• Patient education handouts

Great for: physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and medical students

Publisher: Elsevier

Before you start

►You must create a ClinicalKey personal account prior to being able to access the Mobile App 

► Learn more about the ClinicalKey Mobile App & creating ClinicalKey personal account

How to access the ClinicalKey Mobile App

Step 1: Download the app from the App Store or Play Store

Step 2: Click Global, click ClinicalKey, then sign in with your unique ClinicalKey username and password

Don't have a ClinicalKey personal account or activated remote access?

Step 3: Go to ClinicalKey from the Rowland Medical Library Website (if you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your UMMC username and password)

ClinicalKey

Step 4: Click Register & fill in details with your UMMC email address. 

Step 5: Click Register & Continue 

Step 6: Once logged in with your unique ClinicalKey personal account, click your name (top right) & select Remote Access

Step 7: Enter your registered ClinicalKey personal account email address (this should be your UMMC email address) and click Continue 

Step 8: Check your email and click the activation link to activate remote access. 

Step 9: Return to Step 2 for logging in to the mobile app. 

DynaMed  

About: DynaMed provides clinicians with real-time practice-changing updates, so the best available evidence is always at their fingertips. DynaMed quickly identifies and surfaces the right content. Key takeaways, targeted synopses, and clearly defined recommendations reduce time to answer.

The DynaMed Spp features: 

• Drug monographs

• Drug interaction checker

• Decision trees

• Calculators

• Differential diagnoses

• Prognoses and patient information

Great for: physicians, residents, medical students, nurse practitioners, dentists, dental students

Publisher: EBSCO

Before you start

► You must create a DynaMed Personal User Account prior to being able to access the Mobile App 

► Learn how to create a DynaMed Personal User Account - you must do this step from the Library Website

► Depending on the Installation you select, DynaMed will download content directly to your phone which will not require an internet connection but will take up space on your phone

How to access the DynaMed Mobile App 

Step 1: Download the app from the App Store or Play Store 

Step 2: Sign in with your DynaMed Personal User Account username and password

Step 3: Select an installation option

* A WiFi connection is suggested during the initial download and during updates

Account Lapsing?

To continue using the mobile app, you must reauthorize your profile by logging into your DynaMed Personal User Account from the Library website every 3 months. 

UpToDate  

About: UpToDate is the leading clinical decision support resource with evidence-based clinical information – including drug topics and recommendations that clinicians rely on at the point of care.

The UPp To Date App features: 

• Emergency medicine

• Patient education

• Drug information

• Frud interactions

• Calculators

Great for: physicians, residents, nurse practitioners, pharmacists

Publisher: Wolters Kluwer

Before you start

► You must create a UpToDate account prior to being able to access the Mobile App 

► Learn how to create an UpToDate account - you must do this step from the Library Website

► UpToDate App does not download content to your mobile device, an internet connection is required. 

► Includes Lexicomp Drug Interactions

How to access the UpToDate Mobile App 

Step 1: Download the app from the App Store or Play Store 

Step 2: Sign in with your unique UpToDate account username and password

Account Lapsing?

To continue using the mobile app, you must reauthorize your profile by logging into your UpToDate account from the Library Website every 3 months.

VisualDx  

About: VisualDx is a visual reference tool for medical professionals that aids therapeutic decisions and improves patient safety. VisualDx has been building the most diverse set of images, including dark skin dermatology.

With Visual Dx, clinicians will be able to:

• Build custom differentials across dermatology, internal medicine, pediatrics, and more while considering patient findings such as history, recent travel, and allergies

•  Access therapy and best test options from our handbook-length summaries of more than 3,200 diagnoses across all medicine

• Curated medical image library

Great for: dermatologists, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and medical students

Publisher: Visual Dx

Before you start

► You must create a Personal VisualDx Account prior to being able to access the Mobile App 

► Can be downloaded on up to 3 devices

How to access the VisualDx Mobile App

Step 1: Log in to VisualDx from the Rowland Medical Library Website

VisualDx

Step 2: Click Get the Mobile App 

Step 3: Register for a Personal VisualDx Account

Step 4: Input your information and click Create a Personal Account

Step 5: Download the app from the App Store or Play Store

Step 6: Log in with your unique VisualDx Personal Account

Account Lapsing?

To continue using the mobile app, you must reauthorize your profile by logging into your VisualDx account from the Library Website once a year.

Nursing Reference Center  

About: Nursing Reference Center Plus™ is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses, directly at the point-of-care. It offers the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents.

The Nursing Reference Center app features:

• Clinically organized quick lessons

• Evidence-based care sheets

• Point-of-care drug information

• Nursing Practice & Skills

• Skill Competency Checklists

• Online access to video content

Great For: clinical nurses, nurse educators

Publisher: EBSCO

Before you start

► You must request an authentication key via email from the Nursing Reference Center Database.

How to access the Nursing Reference Center Mobile App 

Step 1: Log in to Nursing Reference Center from the Rowland Medical Library Website

Nursing Reference Center

Step 2: Click NRC Plus Mobile App Access link at the bottom of the page

Step 3: Input your UMMC email to receive an email with instructions, authentication key, and download link

Step 4: Open email from your mobile device

Step 5: Download app from the App Store or Play Store 

Step 6: Click the Activation Key from the Nursing Reference Center email from Step 4. 

Step 7: Select an installation option

BrowZine  

About: 

Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Rowland Medical Library or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines.

With BrowZine you can:

• Browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest

• Easily view the table of contents of current and past journals

• Create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals

Great for: All disciplines

Before you start

► Explore all of the Rowland Medical Library e-Journals with BrowZine

► Your UMMC username/password is all you need to download the app

► BrowZine has unlimited app downloads - just sync your My Bookshelf across all your devices,

► My Bookshelf requires a unique BrowZine account -- learn more about creating a BrowZine account

► For desktop use - Click Here

How to access the BrowZine Mobile App 

Step 1: Download the app from the App Store or Play Store

Step 2: Search for "University of Mississippi" and click University of Mississippi Medical Center - Rowland Medical Library 

Step 3: Log in with your UMMC username and password 

Step 4: Search for Journals by title or subject

Micromedex Apps  

Before you start

►You must be on campus or "in-network" to access the web version of Micromedex. either from the library or the UMMC intranet.

► You must be on campus or "in-network" to download and install Micromedex apps

► Once the app is downloaded and installed you can access the app from anywhere. 

► This process works for all Micromedex Apps

• Micromedex Drug Ref

• Micromedex NeoFax

• Micromedex Pediatrics

►  Explore the newest Micormedex Newsletter 

► Learn more about downloading/using Micromedex Mobile Apps:

How to access the Micromedex Mobile Apps

Step 1: Access Micromedex Solutions from the Library A-Z Database List or via the UMMC Intranet. 

Step 2: Select Mircomedex on the right side of the screen.

Step 3: Select Mobile Application Access from the top of the page. 

Step 4: Select Micromedex Native Mobile Apps.

Step 5:Follow the directions for each individual app.  There is a specific, case-sensitive password for each app. 

BMJ Best Practice  

About: BMJ Best Practice provides healthcare professionals with the latest evidence-based clinical decision support information. It's available offline, which means clinical decision support can be accessed anytime, anywhere.

The app provides:

• Fast access to the latest guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention

• 500+ patient leaflets

• 250+ medical calculators

• Guidance videos on common clinical procedures

Great for: physicians, residents, nurse practitioners, medical students, and nursing students

Publisher: British Medical Journal

Before you start

►You must create a "BMJ personal account" prior to being able to access the Mobile App. 

How to access the BMJ Best Practice App 

Step 1: Access BMJ Best Practice from Rowland Medical Library 

BMJ Best Practice 

Step 2: Create a personal account or log in if you already have an account.

Step 3: Input email and password. 

Step 4: Download the BMJ Best Practice app from the App Store or Google Play Store

Step 5: Open the app and sign in with your unique personal account information.. Ensure you are connected via University of Mississippi Medical Center.

Step 6: Content will automatically start downloading providing you with offline access.

Step 7: Start using BMJ Best Practice app.

EBSCOhost Database  

Before you start

► You must request an authentication key via email from the EBSCOhost Database.

► Browse Rowland Medical Library EBSCOhost Databases through the A-Z Database List, select letters of the alphabet to narrow search

RML EBSCOhost Databases

How to access the EBSCOhost Database Mobile App 

Step 1: Log in to an RML EBSCOhost Database

RML EBSCOhost Databases

Step 2: Click iPhone and Android Apps link at the bottom of the page

Step 3: Input your UMMC email to receive an email with instructions, authentication key, and download link

Step 4: Open email from your mobile device

Step 5: Download app from the App Store or Play Store 

Step 6: Click the Activation Key from the Nursing Reference Center email from Step 4.