Skip to Main Content

Doctor of Health Administration (DHA): Citations

This guides provides research assistance for students enrolled in the DHA program

undefined

APA Citation refers to the citation and manual of style from the American Psychological Association. Use the information and examples provided on this page to properly format in-text and reference list citations. 

The 6th edition of the APA Manual of Style is available for review within Rowland Medical Library. 
Learn more about the most notable changes in APA 7th ed. 

Citing sources you've consulted gives your paper credibility, and adhering to APA's citation guidelines protects you from unintentional plagiarism.

 

 

 

The Reference List

Your reference list should begin on a new page following the text of your paper. Here, you will include complete citations for the resources you've used in your writing. 

Tips for formatting your reference list:
  • Begin the list on a new page with the title "References" centered at the top.
  • The entire list should be double-spaced.
  • Authors are listed with the last name first followed by the first and middle initials. (E.g.: Skinner, B.F.)
  • The list should be alphabetized by the last name of the first author of each citation.
  • When citing books, Web pages, and periodicals, capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle as well as proper nouns.
  • When citing academic journal articles, capitalize all major words in the journal-title.
  • Don't use quotation marks around titles of journal or periodical articles.
  • Publisher location is no longer needed, simply the name of the publisher.**
  • Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be fully listed on the reference list.
  • Format DOIs the same as URLs; the label DOI is not necessary. (https://doi.org/10.1080/02686667.2018.1560449)**
  • Do not include "Retrieved from" before a URL.**
**ONLY FOR APA 7TH EDITION 

 

In-Text Citations

In addition to the Reference list, sources are also cited using the parenthetical author-date system in the text of your manuscript. 

 

You may word your in-text citation in several different ways to maximize the effectiveness of your writing. The most straightforward method is to include the author's (or authors') last name and the page number(s) following the quotation, idea, or fact you are citing.
Example:
There is not a strong correlation between a high GPA and students who began reading at an early age (Kahneman & Klein, 2009).

 

You may also refer to the author's name in the text of your paper. In this case, cite the date in parentheses following the author's name.
Example:
Kahneman & Klein (2009) found that there is not a strong correlation between a high GPA and early readers.

 

If you are using a direct quotation, include the page number where the quotation can be found.
Example:
"The correlation between early reading and graduating GPA is not high" (Kahneman & Klein, 2009, p. 522).

Additional Help 

iF YOU ARE A MEMBER OF THE DHA CLASS OF 2021 - FOLLOW APA 6TH EDITION 

Books

Entry Type Reference List
Book - print, single author Baxter, C. (1997). Race equality in health care and education. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Balliere Tindall
Book - print, multiple authors Calfee, RC., & Valencia, R.R. (1991). APA guide to preparing manuscripts for journal publication. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. 

Book - with editors

 Plath, S. (2000). The unabridged journals. K.V. Kukil (Ed.). New York, NY: Anchor. 
Book - chapter O'Neil, J.M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender roles journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B.R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York: NY: Springer.
Book - editions Helfer, M.E., Kempe, R.S., & Krugman, R.D. (1997). The battered child (5th ed.). Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.
Book - online

Worell, J., & Goodheart, C.D. (2006). Handbook of girls and women's psychological health. Retrieved from http://www.netlibrary.com

* Provide the homepage of the online library, rather than the full URL. Books are easily available by search and some sites require logins. Only use a URL if it is a direct, permanent link.

 

Journals 

Entry Type Reference List
Journal - print, single author Jacoby, W.G. (1994). Public attitudes toward government spending. American Journal of Political Science, 38(2), 336-361.
Journal - print, multiple authors

Husain, A.N., Colby, T.V., Ordonez, N.G., Krausz, T., Borczuk, A., Cagle, P.T., & Wick, M.R. (2009). Guidelines for pathologic diagnosis of malignant mesothelioma. Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, 133(8), 1317-1331.

* If less there are seven or fewer authors, list all. If greater than seven authors, list the first six, insert an ellipsis, and then provide the name of the final author. 

Journal - online, DOI

Morio, H., & Buchholz, C. (2008). How anonymous are you online? Examining online social behaviors from a cross-cultural perspective. AI & Society, 23(2), 297-307. doi: 10.1007/s00146-007-0143-0
Journal  - online, open access URL Badke, W. (2008). A rationale for information literacy as a credit-bearing discipline. Journal of Information Literacy, 2(1). Retrieved from http://jil.lboro.ac.uk/ojs.index.php/JIL/article/view/RA-V2-I1-2008-1
Journal - online database

Valdes, C. (2006). Brazil's booming agriculture faces obstacles. Amber Waves, 4(5), 28-35. Retrieved from https://ers.usda/gov/amber-waves/

*Give the URL of the journal's homepage if not DOI is provided. 
Abstract Lassen, S.R., Steele, M.M., Sailor, M. (2006). The relationship of school-wide positive behavior support to academic achievement in an urban middle school. Psychology in Schools, 43, 701-712. Abstract retrieved from http://www.interscience.wiley.com

 

Miscellaneous 

Entry Term Reference List
Podcast Glass, I. (Producer). (2012, February 24), Held hostage [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.thisamericanlife.org
Website Guevarra, L. (2010, June 18). Ten cutting-edge green job titles. GreenBiz.com. Retrieved from http://www.greenbiz.com/
Website - no author, no date United States Department of Education (n.d.). Fast facts. National Center for Education Statistics. Retrieved from http://nces.ed.gov/fastfacts/
Blog Post Wilson, S. (2010, July 25). YA Wednesday: Walter Dean Myers made my day [Web blog post]. Retrieved from http://www.omnivoracious.com/2012/07/ya-wednesday-walter-dean-myers-made-my-day.html
Government Report Haugen, S.E. (2009).  Measures of labor underutilization from the current population study (Working Paper No. 424). Bureau of Labor Statistics. Retrieved from http://bls.gov/osmr/pdf/ec090020.pdf
Online Video  Bellofolletti. (2009, April 8). Ghost caught on surveillance camera [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dq1ms2JhYBI&feature=related
Photograph Westinghouse Electric Corporation. (2009). Lightening model [Photograph]. Retrieved from http://photography.nationalgeographic.com/photography/photo-of-the-day/
Thesis/Dissertation Bruckman, A. (1997). MOOSE Crossing: Construction, community, and learning in a network virtual world for kids (Doctoral dissertation, Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Retrieved from http://www.cc.gatech.edu/~asb/thesis
ProQuest Thesis/Dissertation McNiel, D.S. (2006). Meaning through narrative: A personal narrative discussing growing up with an alcoholic mother (Mater's thesis.) Available from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. (UMI No. 1434728)

 

iF YOU ARE A MEMBER OF THE DHA CLASS OF 2022/2023 - FOLLOW APA 7TH EDITION 

Books 

Entry Type Reference List
Book - print, single author Flanagan, O.J. (2007). Really hard problems: Meaning in a material world. MIT Press.
Book- print, multiple authors

Strunk, W., Jones, T., & White, E.B. (1979). The elements of style (3rd ed.). Macmillan.

*Include up to 6 authors. If over 6 authors list all six, then insert three ellipses points, and add the last author's name. 
Book - with editors Duncan, G.J. & Brooks-Gunn, J. (Eds.). (1997). Consequences of growing up poor. Russell Sage Foundation.
Book - chapter Haybron, D.M. (2008). Philosophy and the science of subjective well-being. In M. Eid & R.J. Larsen (Eds.)., The Science of subjective well-being (pp.17-43). Guilford Press. 
Book-editions Rottenberg, A.T. (2003). Elements of argument: A text and reader (7th ed.). Bedford/St. Martin's. 
Book - online

Samanez-Larkin, G.R. (Ed.) (2019). The aging brain: Functional adaptation across adulthood. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000143-000

* Only provide the URL or DOI if you have an open access eBook. If not, then cite like a print book.

 

Journals 

Entry Type  Reference List
Journal - print, single author Edmondson, J. (2002). The will of the people. The Reading Teaching, 55(5), 452-454.
Journal - print, multiple authors Husain, A.N., Colby, T.V., Ordonez, N.G., Krausz, T., Borczuk, A., Cagle, P.T. & Wick, M.R. (2009). Guidelines for pathologic diagnosis of malignant mesothelioma. Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, 133(8), 1317-1331.
Journal - online, DOI

Martens, S. & Valchev, N. (2009). Individual differences in the attentional blink: The important role of irrelevant information. Experimental Psychology, 56(1), 18-26. https://doi.org/10.1027/1618-3169.56.1.18

* Do not include the name of a database, except on occasion where the content is exclusive to the database.
Journal- online, URL Royce, W.S., Gebelt, J.L., & Duff, R.W. (2003). Female athletes: Being both athletic and feminine. Athletic Insight, 5(1), 56-62. http://www.athleticinsight.com/VOL5Iss1/FeminineAthlete.htm
Journal - Cochrane Library  Butterworth, A.D., Thomas, A.G., & Akobeng, A.K. (2008). Probiotics for induction of remission in Crohn's disease. Cochran Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006634.pub2
Journal - ERIC database

Aslo, J.M.R., & Gadio, E.D. (2019). Awareness and understanding of college students toward teacher bullying: Basis for policy inclusion in the student handbook (ED595107). ERIC. https://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED595107

*Use the example for non-periodical ERIC documents. 

 

Miscellaneous

Entry Term Reference List
Podcast Mars, R.(Host). (2019, September 30).  The help-yourself city (NO.375) [Audio podcast episode]. In 99% invisible. Radiotopia. https://99perfecntinvisible.org/episode/the-help-youself-city/
Website Corcodilos, N. (2010). Keep your salary under wraps. Ask the Headhunter. http://asktheheadhunter.com/hasalary.htm
Website - no author, no date Appeal to authority. (n.d.). Logical Fallacies. https://www.logicalfallacies.org/appeal-to-authority.html
Blog Post Headsman. (2009, August 17). 1909:Madanlal Dhingra, Indian revolutionary. ExecutedToday.com. http://www.executedtoday.com/2009/085/17/1909-mandnlal-dhingra-indian-revolutionary/
Government Report Haugen, S.E. (2009). Measures of labor underutilization from the current population study (Working Paper No. 424). Bureau of Labor Statistics. https://bls.gov/osmr/pdf/ec090020.pdf
Online Video Jones, P. [patrickJMT]. (2009, October 24). Easily memorize the unit circle [Video]. YouTube. http://youtube.com/watch?v=03McKEg9ASA
Photograph Zemlianichenko, A. (2009). Russian President Boris Yeltsin dancing at a rock concert [Photograph]. The Pulitzer Prizes. https://www.pulitzer.org/winners/alexander-zemlianichenko
Thesis/Dissertations Chang, S. (2009). Relationships between active leisure and active vacations [Doctoral dissertation, University of Florida]. University of Florida Collections. http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UFE0024249/00001
ProQuest Thesis/Dissertation McNiel, D.S. (2006). Meaning through narrative: A personal narrative discussing growing up with an alcoholic mother [Master's thesis]. Proquest Dissertations and Theses Database. (UMI No. 1434728)