Getting Started at Rowland Medical Library

Library Instruction 

Library orientations, instructional sessions, and workshops are available to UMMC students, faculty, and staff. 

Requests for library instruction can be made using the Library Instruction Request Form or by contacting the requesters' Library Liaison.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Literature Search

For Faculty:

By request, librarians can perform literature searches for UMMC faculty.  A literature search finds published journal articles on a specific topic by searching Rowland Medical Library databases. Search results will be emailed, and a librarian will contact you if more details are required. 

For Literature Search assistance - users should complete the Literature Search Request Form. 

For Students:

Your liaison librarian can help students refine their search strategy.  This means your librarian can help with database selection and brainstorming to identify relevant terms and keywords. Librarians do not write search strategies or perform literature searches for students. 

Students, please contact your liaison librarians for assistance. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Systematic Reviews

Librarians are available to assist with systematic review or other evidence synthesis projects. Complete the Systematic Review Search Request form or contact your liaison librarian for more information. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All UMMC affiliates: Librarians are available by appointment for information consultations on the use of the library's electronic and print resources. Consultations are available in person at Rowland Medical Library or virtually through WebEx.. 

Students: Research & Education Liaison Librarians offer 2 types of consultations with students.

• Introduction to Rowland Medical Library (typically 20-30 minutes):
  This general orientation session shows students how to access library databases and search the Discovery database.  We can help identify and locate potential sources of information on your research topic using the library's licensed and other databases, e-journals, and our online catalog. It also includes tips on finding full-text of known citations and how to order items via the Interlibrary Loan service.  This type of consultation does not require any pre-work by the student.
• Advanced Searching in Research Databases (typically 40-50 minutes)
  This topic-specific session is focused on database selection and refining the student’s search strategy. The session will be individualized to meet student's research and information goals. Before the instructional session, students should submit required information about their research topic. Please email your liaison library for additional details and to make an appointment.

Classes are available to UMMC individuals or groups, with content tailored for the individual or academic program needs. To schedule one or more courses, please contact your department liaison.

The following is a list of suggested courses that we offer. Feel free to contact your liaison for information on tailoring a library instruction course to suit your needs.

• Introduction to Rowland Medical Library
• Evidence-Based Practice
• Specialty Databases
• Introduction to PubMed Searching 
• Advanced PubMed Searching
• Clinical Decision Making/Point-of-Care Tools
• Recommended Resources (focused, concise 10-15 minute presentation for departmental meetings)